Familiar call for help !!! Need a compact receiver

V

vivekama

Audiophyte
Newbie here. Hello!

I bought a pair of paradigm atoms. Now all I want is a reciever that does not look like a Goliath between the cute little atoms. Does anyone know of a receiver that is smaller than the Onkyos and Denons?

I'm actually on a very tight budget. Max $200.

How about a DVD player with built in amp? That would save me the trouble of buying a DVD player + Receiver !!!

Thanks for the help. :)

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
Do you ever plan on going for surround sound? If not, an integrated amp is a great choice. If you can't find a new integrated amp for $200, I'm sure you could find a good used one on Audiogon or ebay in your price range.

V

vivekama

Audiophyte
jaxvon said:
Do you ever plan on going for surround sound? If not, an integrated amp is a great choice. If you can't find a new integrated amp for $200, I'm sure you could find a good used one on Audiogon or ebay in your price range.
No plans for surround sound.

Can I connect a MP3-CD player to the integrated amp?

W

warpdrive

Full Audioholic
vivekama said:
No plans for surround sound.

Can I connect a MP3-CD player to the integrated amp?
Yes, all you need is a minijack to RCA cable available at any Radio shack or even Walmart

V

vivekama

Audiophyte
!

warpdrive said:
Yes, all you need is a minijack to RCA cable available at any Radio shack or even Walmart

Thats a bit confusing. Sorry!

(Mustering courage) Then whats the difference between a receiver and a integrated amplifier?

So all I need is to do is buy a dvd player and a integrated amplifier, then put the three together.

Then whats the role of the receiver? :confused:

Shadow_Ferret

Shadow_Ferret

Audioholic Chief
A receiver is a combination of a radio tuner, a pre-amplifier, and an amplifier.

An integrated amp is a pre-amplifier and an amplifier.