Energy front speakers quality

J

jskoreyk

Audiophyte
I'm just curious, i bought these energy cr-70 speakers for 2500 bucks back in early 2000 and I'm just wondering if they are any good nowadays? I'm new to this whole speaker thing and i'm not sure what's good or not. I figure these ones were at some point good because of the price, and they seemed nice and loud, but are they good? and i just bought a couple polk audio r-15 bookshelf speakers for 6 bucks: will those be ok with my fronts?

jonnythan

jonnythan

Audioholic Ninja
Nah, those are absolute junk. They're so bad I feel compelled to personally come by and get rid of them for you, since I'm such a nice guy and I don't want you to contaminate yourself touching them.

Send me a PM with your address.

J

jskoreyk

Audiophyte
haha. Not likely. I'm not a complete moron, although it may sound like it. I know these are good speakers but what I'm trying to figure out is how good. For example, on a scale of 1 to 10, what would these be at? I've seen a couple reviews but they always seem biased. I just want an honest opinion.

jonnythan

jonnythan

Audioholic Ninja
I don't really know, I've never listened to them. Energy is a quality manufacturer, and I presume any high-end speaker they've made is a good unit. On a scale of 1 to 10, with 1 being a boombox and 10 being a $100,000 speaker, these are probably a solid 6, while those Polks you have are a 3.

The trouble is that you seem to be trying to build a multichannel setup with great mains and poor surrounds. I'm not sure how satisfying that would be. What other equipment do you have? Do you have a sub? What sort of place will you be using them?

Personally I'd be tempted to use them as dedicated music speakers in some other room by pairing them with a high quality stereo receiver and do something else for the HT.

its phillip

its phillip

Audioholic Ninja