Energy C-3's. First impressions... Pics too!

J

JaceTheAce

Audioholic
The FedEx lady that came by made my day. I immediately opened them up, set up the speaker stands, and fired them up.

I was amazed by the sound quality when I heard the C-3's in an audio store about 2 years ago. Finally I was able to pull some money together and make the purchase. I'm a poor college student here are University of North Dakota so my home theater is on a strict budget. These C-3's are amazing! For $250 a pair at AudioAdvisor, you can't beat that.

I auditioned them with some music first with the following songs:

Dire Straits - "Money For Nothing" (very good speaker testing song, for obvious reasons)
Chopin - "Fantasie Impromptu" and several other waltzes and nocturnes by pianist Vladimir Horowitz
Liszt - "La Campanella"
Toto - "Pamela" (good bass groove)
Sting - "Shape Of My Heart" (vocals...guitar really crystal clear)
Steely Dan - "Hey Nineteen"
Pat Metheny - "Minuano"
Pat Metheny - "Last Train Home"
Everything But The Girl - whole entre Like the Deserts Miss The Rain Album (the lead singer's voice is amazing on these speakers)
Earth, Wind, and Fire - "September"
Richard Marx - "Keep Coming Back"

The speakers do so well with bass that you really don't need the sub on while listening to music. Keep in mind this is for a bedroom home theater in a 2-bedroom apartment, but when I pick up a older used Sony CRT projector from a local seller next weekend I will move all the equipment to the living room. If I put the projector in my bedroom the length will only allow about a 5 foot wide picture.

The only issue I have living in an apartment is I can't really play music or movies very loud do to my consideration for the surrounding neighbors. I may ask them for their permission to turn up a movie during the evening. This summer I am looking for a small duplex/town home with a basement. This way the sound will be better contained and will only have 1 other neighbor next door.