Dual Subs Position Question

adamd123

adamd123

Enthusiast
I currently have a single SVS PB-13 Ultra. There isn't enough room behind my AT screen to direct the sub drivers towards the seating position, so I have my subwoofer turned 90 degrees firing towards the center channel:

QUESTION:
I am now adding a second PB-13 Ultra, and was wondering if it would be better to aim the subs outwards opposing each other (but aimed directly into the bass traps) or keep them pointed at each other with roughly 4' between them. I know neither of these options are ideal, but I was curious if one option seems better.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
I don't think either option would be a problem, but I'd probably opt for opposite rather than directly at each other.

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
Best placement of 2 sub is for one sub to be right in the middle of the FRONT wall and one sub in the middle of the REAR wall. :D

H

Hobbit

Senior Audioholic
Best placement of 2 sub is for one sub to be right in the middle of the FRONT wall and one sub in the middle of the REAR wall. :D
:) Looking at the Harman report, particularly slide#54 Investigation 4: Practical Locations and comparing probably the two most common places to put 1 or 2 subs - configuration 2 which would be to one side of the entertainment center or configuration 5 with a sub on both sides of the entertainment center - then comparing the results in slide#56 (and the rest of the report) makes one wonder if there is any significant gain to going with two subs over one?

For most of us, putting a sub in the center at the front and the center at the rear is virtually impossible.

http://www.harman.com/EN-US/OurCompany/Innovation/Documents/White Papers/multsubs.pdf

AcuDefTechGuy

AcuDefTechGuy

Audioholic Jedi
For most of us, putting a sub in the center at the front and the center at the rear is virtually impossible.
That's for sure.