Dolby Digital problems

G

glaze

Audiophyte
Hi, I'm an audio surround noob. I have a JVC 7520VBK receiver and 5.1 speakers hooked up to a blu ray and HD PVR via digital optical cable. I switch the cable back and forth, however on both the Rogers HD PVR and the Blu Ray Players I have issues with 5.1ch surround sound.

BLU RAY: Insignia NS-BRDVD3

UPDATED FIRMWARE

ww.bestbuy.com/site/Insignia&%23174%3B+-+Blu-ray+Disc+Player+with+1080p+Output/9386112.p?skuId=9386112&id=1218096447923

ROGERS HD PVR:

ww.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/rogers-160gb-hd-pvr-cable-box-8300-hdpvr-ontario-only/10054019.aspx?path=c607b5c496ad4396a166873b22c781e7en02
The front two speakers are are :

Main Speakers - Kenwood JL-508
Sensitivity is 92 dB/W at 1 m
Frequency response is 45Hz to 20kHz
Normal impedance is 8 omhs
I have 4 other speakers (two rear, middle and sub) from a cheapo dvd-all-in-one. I can't find too much information for them however :

REAR SPEAKERs- Prima HT8104
4ohms
all 5.1 = 600w
Subwoofer = 8ohms < 150w
Here is the information from my manual about my receiver:

RECEIVER
JVC - 7520vbk
Amplifier
Output During Surround operation:

FRONT: 100w per channel min. RMS, driven into
8ohm at 1kHz with no more than
0.8% total harmonic distortion

REAR: 100w per channel, min. RMS driven into 8ohm
at 1kHz with no more than 0.8% total distortion.

SUPPORTS: DOLBY Pro Logic II, DTS,

dl.owneriq.net/3/3542ef4b-7c74-3b94-25ac-7353114eab55.pdf
The problem is: Both on the PVR and Blu Ray the "surround sound" does not utilize the best out of the speakers. In stereo mode, the two front speakers play the highs mids and lows nicely its just not surround.