Do they make a power strip with a 12 volt trigger...

Discussion in 'Home Theater PC (HTPC) & Media Servers' started by RaT, May 28, 2010.

  1. RaT Junior Audioholic

    RaT
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    Do they make a power strip that would accept a 12 volt trigger... that a receiver could turn on via its 12 volt trigger? I just purchased a Yamaha receiver with the 12 volt trigger but found out my old Soundstream power strip triggers with a RJ11 type connection and I am not even sure of its voltage. I tried a Google search but I don't think I got the phraseology right. I'm not even sure its called a trigger. To make matters worse, I'm not sure where to even post a question like this... :confused: I do know my old Soundstream preamp turns on the power strip which in turn turns on the amp and CD player I have attached to it. Thanks.
    RaT,
  2. T2T Senior Audioholic

    T2T
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    130
    While these strips don't have a 12V trigger feature, they will activate device(s) when your pre-amp or receiver is turned on. I've owned one in the past, and it worked well. You can also adjust the sensitivity for proper trigger action.

    http://catalog.bitsltd.us/power_strips/

    Note: You can also buy them through Amazon.
    T2T,
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Monkey Audiophyte

    Monkey
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. RaT Junior Audioholic

    RaT
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    I did manage to find a power strip locally for $39 that had what T2T mentions above and it works very well. I figured I could easily build one via a 12V pull on a relay, that could then turn on a outlet that turned on a line conditioner/power strip etc, but I wanted it right now. I use it to turn on/off a 5 channel amp I connected to a Yamaha receiver that I recently purchased.
    RaT,
  5. GlocksRock Audioholic Spartan

    GlocksRock
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    944
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I have a Panamax M8-HT Pro that has a 12v trigger for 4 of the 8 outlets, and while this particular model is discontinued, there is a newer model out that also has a 12v trigger. I tried one of the smart power strips that T2T suggested, and it didn't work very well.
  6. Warpdrv Audioholic Ninja

    Warpdrv
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,262
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Location:
    @ Milwaukee, WI
    I use one of these in my system and they work great once they get dialed in.
  7. GlocksRock Audioholic Spartan

    GlocksRock
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,184
    Likes Received:
    944
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I could never get mine to work consistently, so I returned it... I was really hoping it would work, but I'm much better off with my Panamax since it offeres ethernet and coax protection as well as triggered outlets.

Share This Page

  • rbhsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • Emotiva.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA