M

Missionman

Junior Audioholic
Hey guys

Been looking around for some time for DIY tube amp schematics, that are exactly what im wanting..
if anyone could point me in the right direction??

I want a 6v6 tubes amp, not just pre-amp, but main amp built in, so the enclosure would have RCA inputs and speaker outputs.. Basically a pre and main amp..

I need clear schematics, everything labeled out as to which rating components go where, and a key to what every symbol is..

And also a list of exactly everything i need would be fantastic..

As i will be aproaching this project as if i was a newbie..

I know a bit about electronics, have been soldering for many years, and understand basic principles of electronics and how they work etc..
But its the schematic symbols that confuse me, and knowing exactly what ratings to use etc..
Also which transformers would be good for it...

Please help..
I want to make a wacky looking, but beautifully sounding, sexy looking tube amp, but have got the foggies where to start :(

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
You do realize than most if not all DIY Tube amps are limited to 5-10w and sound somewhat louder you'd need very-very efficient speakers - 91db or more
In addition tube do color the sound (warm sound) - but some folks like it

In comparison DIY solid state amps much easier to build with more affordable parts. Typically much more robust and accurate...

Some links for your reading:
DIY AUDIO PROJECTS - Do-It-Yourself Hi-Fi for Audiophiles
DIY Vacuum Tube (Valve) Amplifier Projects - Hi-Fi Audio
DIY Solid State Hi-Fi Audio Projects
High End Audio MOSFET Amplifiers - Amplifier Modules - DIY Amp Modules - DIY Audio - Amp Kit
Solid State - diyAudio

p.s.: Why username? If you own Wharfedale and not Mission speakers?

slipperybidness

slipperybidness

Audioholic Warlord