DIY Hybrid Electrostats

J

jazzman53

Audioholic Intern
Hi all,

I just found and joined this site... looks like a great place!
Actually, I'm a newbie to home theater, even though I've been into audio gear for many years.

If anyone is interested in high quality DIY hybrid electrostatic speakers I've got a website dedicated to building them fairly cheaply (around $800 a pair).

Since this is my first post here, I can't post a link to the website yet but it's easy to find-- just do a Google search for "Jazzman's ESL Page".
Enjoy!
Jazzman

GranteedEV

GranteedEV

Audioholic Ninja
Nice website!

The bass section appears to be a monopole source. Did you experience any audible power response mismatch at the crossover?

I would imagine a cardioid or dynamic dipole bass source would blend better.

J

jazzman53

Audioholic Intern
Nice website!

The bass section appears to be a monopole source. Did you experience any audible power response mismatch at the crossover?

I would imagine a cardioid or dynamic dipole bass source would blend better.
Anything that's said about a flat panel electrostat should include the caveat "in the sweet spot".

I think a vertical array of dipole woofers would indeed blend better with the stat panel than the single omni-woofer I'm using-- insofar as the bass array I described would remain balanced with the stat panel in the near field and in the far field also. Whereas, the single omni-woofer in my setup is only balanced at the far field "sweet spot".