Digital Converter Comparison = Pro Audio Snake Oil?

P

Press Record

Enthusiast
Hi, first time poster here. I wanted to get input from the other side of the aisle so to speak. I am a musician who knows much more about the process of recording and mixing than about audio electronics.

Black Lion Audio is a company that modifies existing pro audio equipment such as microphone preamps and converters with the promise of improved performance.

This video below demonstrates a sonic comparison between a stock Digidesign ADA converter and Black Lion Audio modified Digidesign ADA converter. It appears from the video that he is only comparing the DA of both converters.

http://www.gearwire.com/digidesign-digi002-modification001.html

According to the video the signal chain going into the converter is the same.

When listening, there is no doubt that an audible difference exists between the two clips he plays. But the first track also sounded much louder than the second. I used my audio editing software to analyze the RMS on both clips and it turns out that the first clip (modded device) is over 6 DBs louder than the second clip (standard device).

This would appear to me to be misleading at the very least and maybe even deceptive since we all know that by simply making something louder it will sound subjectively more detailed, defined, have a better sounding low end etc. Can anyone with more audio electronics smarts than me listen to the video and let me know what your opinions are? Be sure to listen to the comments on the mods and how they affect the sound.

Also, in my experience there is no reason to think that recording engineers are any less susceptible to manufacturer claims than AV enthusiasts.

F

fmw

Audioholic Ninja
Yes, you are correct. It is misleading to put up audio samples without level matching. People will prefer the louder one every time, even if there is no audible difference when level matched.