Crossover confusion/questions

Hi Ho

Hi Ho

Audioholic Samurai
I was just toying with the idea of building a pair of speakers for my PC and I was playing around with the Passive Crossover Designer. Since I can't find a .frd file for either the woofer or tweeter (Dayton RS100T-8 and Dayton DC28FT-8) I was simply playing with the crossover calculator section.

I chose a crossover frequency of 2,200Hz based on the frequency response of the tweeter and woofer.

I'm confused about the high and lowpass layouts. I was going by the 3rd order Butterworth series calculation (just a random pick) and it shows L1, C1, and L2 in the high pass section but the layout only shows those in the low pass section.

I am a complete noob when it comes to this. Could anyone shed any light on this?

Thanks.

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
I was just toying with the idea of building a pair of speakers for my PC and I was playing around with the Passive Crossover Designer. Since I can't find a .frd file for either the woofer or tweeter (Dayton RS100T-8 and Dayton DC28FT-8) I was simply playing with the crossover calculator section.

I chose a crossover frequency of 2,200Hz based on the frequency response of the tweeter and woofer.

I'm confused about the high and lowpass layouts. I was going by the 3rd order Butterworth series calculation (just a random pick) and it shows L1, C1, and L2 in the high pass section but the layout only shows those in the low pass section.

I am a complete noob when it comes to this. Could anyone shed any light on this?

Thanks.
They are both fourth order high and low pass, with 5 resonant circuits added, Heaven knows why. Looks like a mess and I never saw the like of it.

Hi Ho

Hi Ho

Audioholic Samurai
Haha well I figured as much. Any suggestions on good resources for learning how/why crossovers work so maybe I could make some sense of them? I have no idea what I'm looking at when I look at a crossover schematic.

TLS Guy

TLS Guy