cross over and computer questions

M

maxx103

Audioholic Intern
OK, I will start by saying that i am completely new to all this for the most part so if this is a stupid question with a simple awesome then OK. I want to out put from my sound card (asus st) that has analog outs. I want something that can: A) control volume for speakers and subs B) split the frequency into 2 but ill need either two sub outs or ill need two of these and C) cont under 500 preferably under 300. So basically Computer-> active cross.-->amp--> speakers. If you need any more info feel free to ask.

P.S: all i have right now are the two speakers that is the sound card i want but if you know one that will suit my purposes better please comment

P.S.S i know the wording is weird but if you need clarification just say so

JerryLove

JerryLove

Audioholic Samurai
Simplest is to grab an old 5.1 AVR. Use a Y-cable to split the sub out (or find an old one with two sub-outs).

If you are after something more complex as an active crossover: the Behringer Super-X is $79 at parts express. If you need an external volume control (pre-amp), then use anything with pre-outs.

You can configure the behringer one of two ways. You can turn two input signals into 4 out (left-high, left low, right high, right low) or into 3 out (left high, right high, low). Again: you can use a splitter to split the output and adjust the gain on the subs (or, indeed on the behringer itself)

M

maxx103

Audioholic Intern
oook

so is like left and right sub woofer channels a joke because if each analog is outputting 20hz-20khz i want the speakers to handle down to about 60 and have two subs (one for left and one for right). Also this is in a very small room so i might just use one sub unless i can get better sound quality. my priorities are 1) sound quality 2)price 3)aesthetics. anyway thanks for the help i might just end up with a receiver at this rate

also this is nearly pure music sooooo yah

JerryLove

JerryLove