Connectivity questions

T

tuck0411

Enthusiast
This will probably date me and make me sound like a total noob, but I've got an old Pioneer VSX-5300 AV receiver with no dedicated sub output. It's got two main speaker outs, two rear outs, and a center out. These were made back in the late 80s, which I guess was before subs became popular. Anyway, the unit runs fine, and although I will eventually replace it, I'd like to keep using it for the time being if I can figure out how to use it with a good quality sub. After perusing this forum and a couple of others, I'm under the impression that some subs support running the main speaker outputs into the sub and utilizing the crossover, and then running separate wires from the sub to the speakers. If anyone can confirm or deny that, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Assuming the above scheme is doable, I've narrowed my sub options down to the Emotiva X-Ref 12 and the SVS SB12-NSD. Looking at the back panel pics of the Emotiva, I'm not sure it supports the wiring scheme mentioned above, but the SVS model possibly does. Anyone know for sure about either of those models? Thanks in advance. :)

its phillip

its phillip

Audioholic Ninja
Neither sub has what you need. You need one with speaker level/high level inputs & outputs.

This is an example of what you need:

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
+1. What you are looking for is a sub with speaker level inputs. There are plenty of them out there, you just happened to pick a few that do not. I have my sub at my other place hooked up like this with integrated amp.

T

tuck0411

Enthusiast
Ok, thanks, guys. I had a feeling that would be the response as I've seen the phrase "speaker level inputs" mentioned in various places. I also got a reply from Jack at SVS saying essentially the same thing.