Connecting Passive Sub to Receiver w/o amp?

L

loneshark

Enthusiast
I am a relative newbie when it comes to audio setups, so any help would be appreciated. I have a 5.1 setup in wall (R/L Rear, R/L front, center, in wall 12in sub). Not the most ideal, but the sub is passive (12" Pyle PDIWS12). It has +/- left outputs and +/- right outputs. the speakers will be wired to a Sony STRDH520 AVR).

Is there any way I can wire the sub directly into the AVR without an amplifier in between, according to the setup that I currently have? Thanks

ImcLoud

ImcLoud

Audioholic Ninja
Im confused , The sub has +- +- for each voice coil, them arent outputs?

You will need an amplifier for your sub... That in wall sub is just a speakers on a wall plate, no x-over, sub, eanything, just a dual voice coil sub...

You can get an APA150 for under $160, that would be about your best bet. I have seen people mount a plate amp rite in the wall too, Subwoofer Plate Amplifiers in the Speaker Components Department at Parts Express | 332, But the apa150 has a built in xover and is a really good value..

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
When you say OUTPUTS, do you mean speaker connections aka INPUTS? IMO, you are better off with something like the APA as mentioned to power the sub. I wouldn't try to power a sub with that receiver.

L

loneshark

Enthusiast
Sorry, you are correct, these are inputs. If I were to get an old receiver and connect the sub into that and connect the old receiver into the new receiver, would that accomplish the task of amplifing the signal?

adk highlander

adk highlander

Sith Lord
Why would you get an old receiver. Just get an old amp. A receiver will be a pain as it has too many controls. All you need is an amp. Dig around on ebay and you can pick one up for under $100 bucks.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi