Connecting Marantz NR 1402 to laptop

K

Karan Malhotra

Enthusiast
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to high end audio so this might be a basic question for most.

This is my current setup:

LED TV
PS3
Marantz NR 1402 receiver
KEF T105 5.1 speakers
A generic toshiba laptop

The PS3 is connected to the TV via a HDMI. The TV is connected to the receiver via a optical cable. The laptop is connected to the receiver via the 3.5mm audio cable (laptop audio out to Aux-in on the receiver).

My question is, how do I improve the sound from the laptop, since all my FLAC / 320 kbps music is on my computer and that's my preferred source? I had the following options:

a) Connect laptop to TV via HDMI and then play music
b) Connect laptop to receiver and then play music
c) Get an external USB DAC and connect laptop to receiver via this. This seems to be the recommended way, but I'm not sure as the receiver already has a DAC built in, so I'm not 100% sure.

Any other way to optimize my system would be a great suggestion! Thanks a lot for your help.

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum, Karan!

To start, I would connect your PS3 to the Marantz via HDMI, and then connect the HDMI output on the Marantz to your TV. That way, you'll be sending the audio from the PS3 directly to the Marantz. A lot of TVs will convert surround sound from an HDMI input into stereo sound to output through their optical audio output (doesn't mean that yours does, but most do). In general, I'm a big fan of using receivers as audio/video switches versus using a TV for that purpose if you have a receiver.

For the laptop, it seems like it has an HDMI output based on your question - correct? That's certainly one way to go on the connection to the Marantz. It should provide a good digital signal and handle your music just fine. What other outputs does the laptop have, besides the HDMI and headphone jack?

S

sjcguy

Junior Audioholic