A

Atalair

Enthusiast
Hey I'm quite new to the audiophile world but I have been taking a liking to higher end systems. I'm looking at buying some speakers for my computer system and I need some advice from the experts!

My budget is (preferably) around $300 Canadian - also keep in mind that means the speakers have to be available in Canada hopefully. I'm a student currently so the budget can't go much higher however in the summer I'm looking at upgrading.

So I'm looking for a 2.0 system that has great sound for a medium size bedroom AND that I can hopefully add a sub-woofer to in the summer to get the lows. The price limit for the woofer in the summer will probably be around $400.

The types of music I listen to are rock, funk, and a lot of acoustic stuff.

So would anybody have any recommendations for around that price range? I've heard a lot of good stuff about Audioengine but also some bad stuff, including the sub-woofer S8 being a bit loose?

Thanks!

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Crackerballer

Crackerballer

Senior Audioholic
Is $300 also for an amp too? If so, $300 isn't going to stretch very far.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
Behringer TRUTH B1030A is good budget alternative... but if you can find a deal on JBL and could afford them go with jbl pro - you won't be disappointed.

A

Atalair

Enthusiast
Thanks for the advice! So judging by the replies it would be good to get passive speakers with an amp, if I moved the budget to $400 would I have any more luck (it would be pushing it slightly at $400).

As well, I looked up the Behringer TRUTH B1030A and found it for $209.98 for two, at that point what would I need to get it running on my computer? Would that be worth it?

And BoredSysAdmin, what kind of prices would the JBL systems be? Based on a first look I'm not too sure what would be good for a computer setup/good price point.

Thanks again!

A

Atalair

Enthusiast