Changing Speaker Frequencies

A

Anna Muratore

Audiophyte
I am doing a project for university that requires speaker and sound knowledge that I just do not have and was wondering if anyone can help me. I have very little knowledge about speakers and sound in general so be kind!

Essentially, I am aiming to produce a series of very rapid and powerful sound induced pressure fluctuations. I am very unsure as to how to do this. This project also requires trial and error and ability to test at different frequencies. Assuming I have 0 sound knowledge I was wondering you can change the frequencies at which speakers operate? And if anyone knows to to induce pressure fluctuations and potentially control them?

Let me know!

TLS Guy

TLS Guy

Seriously, I have no life.
I am doing a project for university that requires speaker and sound knowledge that I just do not have and was wondering if anyone can help me. I have very little knowledge about speakers and sound in general so be kind!

Essentially, I am aiming to produce a series of very rapid and powerful sound induced pressure fluctuations. I am very unsure as to how to do this. This project also requires trial and error and ability to test at different frequencies. Assuming I have 0 sound knowledge I was wondering you can change the frequencies at which speakers operate? And if anyone knows to to induce pressure fluctuations and potentially control them?

Let me know!
I would like to know where your professors and school mentors are. You also could start researching the elementary physics of sound.

You would find out that all sound waves are pressure fluctuations. The faster the higher in pitch the sound and the shorter the wave length. The frequency of a sound X its wavelength = the velocity of sound, which you can take as 1,100 ft/sec.

So a loudspeaker induces the pressure fluctuations you are asking for. The louder the greater the pressure change.