ayaname

Audiophyte
My setup:

• 25" x 15" x 9" room
  • 5.1 home theater system
  • Front Left/Right - Canton Quinto 510
  • Center - KLM unknown model
  • Surround Left/Right - Canton GL 260
  • Subwoofer - Polk PSW110 (want to replace with SVS PB-1000)

I am a novice in home theater setups. I inherited the old Canton speakers from my Dad so I did not spend any money on those.

When running sound tests like when setting up the receiver, the center speaker sounds distinctly different from the left and right. So I am investigating whether I should replace the center speaker with a speaker that's a better timbre match with my left/right speakers.

I contacted Canton and a rep recommended the Canton GLE 456. It's $400 and seems very expensive.

Do you have any recommendations for a cheaper solution?

Is there a more affordable Center Channel speaker that would be a good match for the Canton Quinto 510's?

Should I replace all 3 front speakers, and with what?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
zieglj01

zieglj01

Audioholic Spartan
Time to get new speakers and center for the front L/C/R channels.
Do you have some type of budget?

If not, then look for some type of Canton center on Ebay.

Pyrrho

Pyrrho

Audioholic Ninja
You might want to do without a center until you find a good match. Unfortunately, it is hard to know what will match what you have, other than another Canton Quinto 510, which would be a perfect match for your front right and left speakers.

Speaker manufacturers change their designs over the years, so it is very hard to know if anything current would really be a good match or not (though a manufacturer is almost certain to try to sell you something regardless). If you can find another Canton that uses the same tweeter and midrange as your Quinto 510 speakers, that would likely be a good match.