Ceiling speakers for background music

• Thread starter Onepointtwentyonegigawatt
  • Start date
O

Onepointtwentyonegigawatt

Enthusiast
I have an odd shaped open concept area where I'd like to install 4 ceiling speakers for background music. I have 2x100 watt channels open on a 9.2 receiver capable of multiple zones. I'm new to home audio, but I'm thinking I have three options:

1) wire in two lefts and two rights, knowing that I probably won't get good stereo effect most places in the room

2)wire 4 speakers as mono-is this a function of the receiver or of the wiring?

3) use 4 stereo input speakers

Do I have my options right? Is there a clear "best"? Other options?

This won't be for critical listening, and I would like to install a wall mounted volume control, if that makes a difference.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
I have no experience with such a setup but if you can indeed use your avr like mine to set two amps each for zone 2 & 3, then I'd wire each pair to a zone and simply change amp assign as needed, rather than think of wiring one amp pair to all four speakers. That way if the dual stereo mode doesn't work well, you still have the choice of running mono as a mode in the avr rather than wiring that way. I'd use a phone app to control volume myself via wifi.

Wiring for a pair in mono to each zone may be okay depending on your speakers' impedance...try this article on wiring http://cie-wc.edu/Series_Parallel_9_14.pdf

TheWarrior

TheWarrior

Audioholic Ninja
You cannot drive two speakers on one channel, period! You will damage your receiver's amp! Receivers are not set up for distributed audio, the demands are different. Either use only 2 ceiling speakers, in stereo, or buy a separate amp. A proper D/A amplifier will get you the mono output you seek.

O

Enthusiast