Cable Marketing for Dumbies

J

JJMP50

Full Audioholic
While visiting my local Home Depot Store to purchase some weed killer, it came to my realization that I needed an optical cable. I had been looking around the house for one I knew I had but could not locate. I picked up an RCA Hi-Pro Optical Cable. Upon return to my house, I did one more search through my disorganized cable/wire box and came up with the one I was missing (forgive me AA for I have sinned: It was a Monster). Today I will return my unopened RCA cable, but being a marketing professional myself, I couldn't help noticing one particular feature blurb on the back of the package: "Fiber Optic Signal Transmitter: : Transmits signal at light speed". WOW!!!!!

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
When you say you "need" an optical cable...

... are you saying that coaxial I/O is not an option? If not, coaxial works just as well if not better than toslink and generally virtually any standard interconnect will work just fine.

but, yes, the wording they use on some of these products is a hoot. If you can't dazzle 'em with brilliance, baffle 'em with BS.

J

JJMP50

Full Audioholic
Need

This was for my basement (secondary) system. It only has 1 coax and 1 optical and I was already using the coax. It's and entry level Pioneer AVR. It's set up in a very small area and didn't require any high end stuff.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Gotcha! I'd do the same in this case.

IMNSHO, that's the only time I'd go toslink. ...too many possible ways it can be inferior to coax. Cheap plastic or expensive glass media, funky connections, bends, two extra processing steps... All of which are non-issues with coax.

M

mustang_steve

Senior Audioholic
IMO, the only time TOSlink should be considered a must-have is for a PC that's using onboard sound, or your gear doesn't allow for coax.