Budget bookshelf speakers + decent amp.

S

-Stefan-

Audiophyte
Hi,

I'm looking out to buy my first set up.
Being a student, my room is not that big and I don't have space for big speakers so I was thinking of buying good bookshelf speakers.
Don't have any money to go for a decent 5,1 setup so I think this is the way to go.

I will connect a Pioneer cd/dvd player, technics sl1200, and my samsung led TV.

I can buy a YAMAHA RX396 amp from a friend for 75$ so that's a bargain I guess or should I consider something else?

I was looking at the KLIPSCH Synergy B20's (they are 25% cheaper on amazon germany if I compare to amazon usa?!) They would cost around $200 here.
JAMO maybe,
or Behringer as I'm in Europe I can buy at good prices from Germany.
Behringer B2030P? They are described as monitors, does it make any difference?

Pioneer SP-BS41-LR is not available in Europe unfortunately...

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:
S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
I would look at Behringer, see what prices you can get on the Truth series. If you are using a sub, look at the 2030p, but if this system is subless, try to swing for the 2031p. The 2031p is pretty large and heavy for a bookshelf speaker, but it has solid bass down to the 50 hz range, it is a terrific speaker.

S

-Stefan-

Audiophyte
2030's are a fair bit cheaper though.

Also the 2031's are active speakers? What difference does this make?
I won't be using a sub for now (I ve done some research and it's not worth buying just a $150 sub)

So the Behringer's will be a much better choice than the Klipsch?

The 2030 would be around $70 more expensive than the Klipsch.

S

-Stefan-

Audiophyte
Stupid question: they will stand on an actual bookshelf (underneath my TV) will that be any problem if they're not on the floor?
My amp and dvd player will stand in between.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
What's the budget? Overseas I'd probably look at Mordaunt Short (Aviano), Wharfedale (Diamond?), B&W.