Brightness of Interlaced vs. Progressive

Doug917

Doug917

Full Audioholic
Interlaced vs. Progressive

Hello,

I just got a Denon 1910 DVD player and had a couple questions. The interlaced component image looks great through my InFocus Screenplay 4805. When I set the player to progressive, the video becomes brighter and I see more pixels in the image. Is it normal for progressive to be much brighter than interlaced. I can turn the brighness and contrast down and get a progressive picture that is comparable to the interlaced. I have no experience with progressive players as this is my first one. It really doesn't look any better than my 5 year old non-progressive Pioneer DV-C503 player. Is there something I am missing or need to set on the player/projector. I have a DVI cable ordered as that is how I am planning on hooking up the player, but was expecting better results from the component outputs using a progressive signal. Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
T

tbewick

Senior Audioholic
It's not surprising that you notice some difference between the quality of interlaced and progressive video brightness levels, because they will have to be processed differently by the DVD player. There isn't any reason why there should be any difference between the brightness levels though, in other words, progressive scan does not always produce brighter pictures than interlaced. The difference between progressive and interlaced scan modes is that progressive scans the image on to the screen in one pass rather than interlaced which does so in two passes (even lines first then odd lines second).

If you want to get an accurate picture, you need to worry about the gamma level and the black level (brightness setting) of your display/DVD player. The brightness of the displayed image is controlled by the contrast control on the display device, and is much more down to personal preference.

Doug917

Doug917

Full Audioholic
A better understanding produces more questions