Bowers & Wilkins 5.1 + pioneer VSX-823-K

N

n0rth

Audioholic Intern
Hey guys, I am basically an n00b when it comes to gear but have a good ear as I am a musician. Got a good deal on my setup but am thinking my receiver may be underpowered. If someone can take a look at what I got and provide some advice/feedback it would be appreciated.

Front: B&W cm5

http://www.bowers-wilkins.com/Downloads/Product/InfoSheet/ENG_FP27979_CM5_info_sheet.pdf

center: B&W HTM62b

http://www.bowers-wilkins.com/Downloads/Product/InfoSheet/ENG_FP28010_CM-Centre-2_info_sheet.pdf

rear: B&W CM1

http://www.bowers-wilkins.com/Downloads/Product/InfoSheet/ENG_FP17035_CM1_info_sheet.pdf

sub: Martin Logan dynamo500

MartinLogan | Dynamo™ Subwoofers - Powerful, Premium Subwoofers

receiver: pioneer VSX-823-K

VSX-823-K - <b>5.1 Channel Networked AV Receiver</b><br> Featuring 3D and 4K Ultra HD Pass-through | Pioneer Electronics USA

~Cheers!

sgtjim

sgtjim

Junior Audioholic
Totally agree, with the following ratings: "With 140 Watts (1 kHz 1 % THD @ 6 Ohms) 1ch Driven or 80 Watts (20Hz-20kHz .08% THD @ 8 Ohms) per channel of clear audio reproduction" and for that price point there's really nothing you can do to increase it's capabilities since I seriously doubt there are pre-amp outputs available. When driving 5 speakers at listening levels for movies I don't think it would provide satisfactory power levels for all speakers. Adding one or two subs (powered) and crossing the internal amps at a higher frequency (80Hz or more) would certainly take some of the strain off the internal amps. Listen to what you have until you can afford to take the dive into a receiver with pre outs and an external amp or go all the way and get a pre-pro and an amp forgetting the receiver altogether. Good listening and good luck.

N

n0rth

Audioholic Intern
N

n0rth

Audioholic Intern