Best sub 1000 center channel speaker?

D

Droogne

Junior Audioholic
Hey

I'm starting a 11.2 surround system and was wondering what center channel speaker I should get. I have a klipsch RP-450C at the moment, and was thinkg to upgrading to a Klipsch RC-64C. Any better alternatives? The Kef Q series Q600c also looks nice, and is a few hundred euros cheaper.

Thanks!

William Lemmerhirt

William Lemmerhirt

Audioholic Overlord
What are the rest of your speakers? Ideally all 3 across the front would be the same, but keeping with the same manufacturers line should be at least a requirement.

D

Droogne

Junior Audioholic
I use Klipsch Forte II as my front speakers. Might upgrade to the Klipsch RF 7II (which are the tower counter parts of the RC 64II). Is it really so much better to use the same line? I'm not really experienced in this kind of stuff :)

William Lemmerhirt

William Lemmerhirt

Audioholic Overlord
I use Klipsch Forte II as my front speakers. Might upgrade to the Klipsch RF 7II (which are the tower counter parts of the RC 64II). Is it really so much better to use the same line? I'm not really experienced in this kind of stuff :)
In my opinion, yes it does matter. To some others it might not, but I've had Frankenstein systems before, and due to my experiences there, I say it matters. All speakers should be able to "hand off" to the next one without calling attention to themselves.

panteragstk

panteragstk

Audioholic Warlord
I've had identical 3 tower speakers for my fronts (all towers) and it sounded great. I'll be doing the same with my new theater. Won't be going back to horizontal center unless I have to.

If I had to, I'd be sure to go with the center channel design that was timber matched to my LR speakers. Most manufacturers do this so just go with whatever matches your current LR unless you can get matching LCR then do that.

D

Droogne

Junior Audioholic