qawiz

Audiophyte
Hi All,

I am new to this so here goes....

My current set-up is 5.1 and:

Receiver: Yamaha HTR 5560
Speakers: Polk Audio RM6200
Speaker Wire: Monster Cable

I am thinking of upgrading to a Yamaha RX-Z7 or RX-V3900 Receiver.

My question is, can I / should I keep the Polk Audio rear speakers. And even if I can, what are some suggestions for good speakers to place on the rear for this set-up?

I was also thinking of keeping some of the Polk Audio Speakers for a 7.1 Surround sound and adding new rear speakers.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

M

mike_wassell

Audioholic Intern
Figure out what speakers you want to use for your front mains then buy the matching center and surround speakers that go with the front mains that you chose.

bandphan

bandphan

Banned
upgrade your speakers first:) Spending money on a new avr of that caliber with those speakers is a crying shame:eek:

Midcow2

Midcow2

Banned
I agreee with Bandphan concentrate on speaker upgrade.

upgrade your speakers first:) Spending money on a new avr of that caliber with those speakers is a crying shame:eek:
Bandphan makes an excellent recommendation. The front speakers are most important. The center speaker should match to maintain timbre ( seamless front sound). The recommended matching speaker or a third speaker like the fronts can be used as center. Center is important if you listen to TV or movies because it carries most of the voice dialog.

The surrounds are for enhancement and don't have to match the fronts. Even thought really, really true hard-core audophiles insist that every speaker is the same :rolleyes:. You could reuse your current Polk Audio RM6200 speakers as surrounds; that is what I would suggest.

The subwoofer also doesn't have to match. SVS and Hsu are good brands and a subwoofer can be added later.