Beginner Seeking Advice about Starting Out

I

Isaac52

Audioholic Intern
I was wondering if you guys could give me any advice on what kind of speakers I should get. I know that's really general so I'll try to describe my situation to help. Sorry for how long this post is; I underlined my three main questions to make it easier to follow and to answer.

My family had a pair of KLH 4001 speakers that they had offered to give me for free. I did some research and KLH doesn't seem to be reputed as a good-quality brand. Also after listening to the speakers I found that both woofers and at least one of the tweeters would need to be replaced. I'm assuming fixing speakers isn't something that one should do? I'm an electrical engineering student and I've soldered wires before; I'm just figured that it would be nearly impossible to find replacement drivers that would have the same specs, ohms, cutoffs, etc. and it would all sound terrible even with EQ adjustments. Oh and the speakers are at least 25 years old so things will only keep breaking.

If getting a new speaker set is the best option, what would you suggest?