Balanced Cable Advice Needed

B

BrianW

Audioholic Intern
Hello,
Newbie here.

I bought the Pono DAP and would like to use my Senny HD 650's with it
A lot of people say that using balanced cables on the Pono makes a big difference so I'm considering buying some.
I know nothing about the difference between normal and balanced cables so I have a few questions.

As I'm handicapped I'm far from rich so I'm hoping that the reports that silver is no better than copper is true as copper is half the price.
Any input on that would be greatly appreciated.

The type of cable I'd need would have the senny pins on one side and two 1/8 males on the other. (the Pono has two mini inputs)
So my other question is...is there an adapter where I can also plug the two 1/8 into my my HeadPhone Amp with one 1/4 input?
And if there is...would adding it degrade the sound from Senny's original cable?

Last edited:
N

Nestor

Senior Audioholic
Balanced lines are great for noise rejection, but that assumes you have a noise (emi) problem in the first place.
Balanced cables won't make an already noise free signal better. If you can't hear any noise, save your money and stick with the single 1/8 cable. You're not missing anything.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

B

BrianW

Audioholic Intern
Balanced lines are great for noise rejection, but that assumes you have a noise (emi) problem in the first place.
Balanced cables won't make an already noise free signal better. If you can't hear any noise, save your money and stick with the single 1/8 cable. You're not missing anything.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the reply, Nestor.
A lot of people say (in a HeadFi Pono thread) that balanced cables improves the sound of the Pono Player... so I think it might have more to do with the player than the headphone as far as I know.

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord