AV Receiver & Speaker Configuration

K

kiranbeginner

Audioholic Intern
Hai guys,

I am a beginner in this field. I would like to buy a home theater system, initially I was thinking of Bose, but after some browsing, I changed my mind.

Now I am looking for a 7.2 receiver with Dolby Atmos & corresponding speakers.

As everyone, I would like to hear good sound for Music & Movies & of course there is a budget restriction of US $ 2000 - 2300

Your advice would help me a lot........

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Technically, a Dolby Atmos system as you describe would actually be a 9.2 or 11.2 system. You'll need 9 or 11 speakers* and a separate amp channel for each one, not to mention two subwoofers. Good subwoofers aren't cheap.

Here's a primer for Atmos : http://www.crutchfield.com/brands/dolby-atmos.aspx

Either stretch your budget or take comfort that 5 or 7 channels, with one good subwoofer, doesn't suck.

* Some are mounted on top of the other.

Last edited:
H

herbu

Audioholic Samurai
markw is right. However, there is good news. If you believe the "experts" here, the people for whom home theater is a passion, you CAN put together a respectable 5.1 system for $2300. One that is MUCH better than what you are likely to hear in your local big box store for that money.

K

kiranbeginner

Audioholic Intern
Thanx markw,

Could you suggest any speaker receiver combination like Polk audio with denon or .......

K

kiranbeginner

Audioholic Intern
Herbu,

Onkyo is offering Dolby atoms speakers and receiver package within $2000. Any remarks on that?

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Herbu,

Onkyo is offering Dolby atoms speakers and receiver package within $2000. Any remarks on that?
I couldn't find any serious contenders with my search. Could you post a link, or a model number? Buy, as a general thought, I wouldn't apply the adjective "good" to any pre-packaged system.

K

kiranbeginner

Audioholic Intern
Today I came across a Sony HT package here in Brazil. A 7.2 HT -M77.