Ask Dr. A! Too Many HDMI Outputs

Discussion in 'GENERAL AV Discussions' started by admin, May 6, 2008.

  1. admin Audioholics Robot Staff Member

    admin
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1,615
    Jim from Iowa asks us how in the world he's supposed to make use of all the new HDMI-capable components he has when his TV and AV receiver don't have enough inputs. It's a good question, and one that many people are asking as more and more manufacturers place HDMI into their products. We tackle it a couple of ways to give you options for maintaining a great picture and also retaining the ability to get the best audio quality possible.
    [​IMG]

    Discuss "Ask Dr. A! Too Many HDMI Outputs" here. Read the article.
  2. rrehart Enthusiast

    rrehart
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    HDMI Inputs

    Question to the user: Why have a DVD player AND a PS-3? Why not just use your PS-3 as the DVD player? With a Nyko IR remote adapter, you can control the PS-3 with any universal remote (that's what I do).
  3. westcott Audioholic General

    westcott
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    South of Houston, Texas
    Probably because the PS3 is a lousy SD DVD player compared to the Oppo Digital.

    What I want from Impact Acoustics is an audio AND video switcher that maintains ALL of the resolution for audio and video. I am going to buy a Denon AVR 688 for the master bedroom soon and I am going to try running my existing Impact Acoustics 5x1 HDMI switcher upstream of my receiver and use its output to the receiver to see if it works for audio and video in this suggested configuration. If it does, that would be great. No more worries about jumping up to the most expensive AV receiver just to get more HDMI inputs.

    Has anyone tried this and do you think that it is too component reliant to say that it will work in every configuration?
  4. GlocksRock Audioholic Spartan

    GlocksRock
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    946
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I've owned an oppo player, and I currently use a PS3 for SD DVD playback, and I don't see where the Oppo has better pic quality.
  5. mudrummer99 Senior Audioholic

    mudrummer99
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    105
    I personally use an SD DVD player and a PS3 just to keep the wear and tear down on my PS3. While there aren't too many reports of over-use damage on the PS3's, they are still way more expensive than replacing a regular player so I'll just stick with that.

    Mike
  6. jwenthold99 Full Audioholic

    jwenthold99
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    I have not seen an oppo dvd player, but I have a PS3, and it looks stunning with upconverted DVD playback on my SXRD.....

    Just my 2c, and I do realize that the PS3 form factor is an issue for some...

    I love it! :)
  7. mike c Audioholic Warlord

    mike c
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Location:
    Manila
    my reason for using my SD DVD player is that it plays all regions.
    my ps3 plays only local DVD's.

    and yeah, i have three HDMI sources - but i'm still saving money to buy a receiver with 4 inputs :)
  8. dgreenstein55 Audiophyte

    dgreenstein55
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Misconception about Component video

    Assuming that his AVR upconverts video to the HDMI output port, there is no reason not to connect everything to the inputs of the AVR, only with a minor change. The most efficient way would have to be to connect the PS3 and OPPO DVD player via HDMI and connect the cable box and XBOX 360 via component. This would allow for HD audio via the PS3 and upconverted picture via the OPPO. Granted the XBOX 360 can output at 1080p via HDMI, but unless you are using a 60" TV or sitting really close, you will never see the difference between 720p and 1080p. So make it easy and don't require a switching of video on your display!
  9. gstarr Enthusiast

    gstarr
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Oppo makes a 3 input HDMI device as does Impact Acoustics. I really like the Radiient HDMI switchers that have models with at least 4 HDMI inputs.

    Greg
  10. Clint DeBoer Banned

    Clint DeBoer
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6,159
    Likes Received:
    857
    Location:
    Lakeland, Florida, United States
    I believe the article notes that option... there's a tech note at the bottom.
  11. Kurt C. Audioholic Intern

    Kurt C.
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Boston
    Oppo players have much better image processing when output through HDMI

    I've read several reviews saying that although Oppo DVD players are stellar performers on 'video torture' tests when output via HDMI, the same isn't true if they are output via component. I'm not sure if this is true of all Oppo DVD players, but it is for some.
  12. mike c Audioholic Warlord

    mike c
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    Location:
    Manila
    i don't think my DVD player even upconverts to component ... only HDMI
  13. Hi Ho Audioholic Samurai

    Hi Ho
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    346
    No DVD player upconverts over component due to copy protection. I agree that the Xbox should go to component before the Oppo. Connecting the Oppo with component negates the upconversion function. The Xbox can output 1080p over component.

Share This Page

  • RBHsound.com
  • BlueJeansCable.com
  • SVS Sound Subwoofers
  • Experience the Martin Logan Montis
  • CEDIA