ARC Question. How do you use it?

Carl08

Carl08

Audioholic
I'm still new to ARC but form what I understand, ARC works best when everything is connected to the TV via HDMI and not the receiver. Is this correct? I'd rather have it all going through the receiver.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
ARC is a way of using a single hdmi cord between your avr and tv, and is to enable audio from the tv back to the avr. Both units have to be ARC capable; generally you need to enable HDMI-CEC in each unit as well. Sometimes the audio exported from the tv is limited to 2.0, depending on how the tv is sourcing and processing audio for output. Different brands don't play so well together sometimes. There are audio limitations, basically the same limitations as using optical or coax connections (lossy codecs) when using HDMI ARC and sometimes it's better to simply use those connections rather than HDMI for audio, especially if your units don't play nicely (my avr and tv didn't).

Dave Blount

Dave Blount

Junior Audioholic
ARC .......Audio Research Corporation, great company, I've enjoyed their products for many years .......

Sorry, just an ounce of levity ..... but I am serious about WZJ's former company.

Hi Ho

Hi Ho

Audioholic Samurai
How do you use it?
I don't. It's more trouble than it's worth. You have to enable HDMI control and that can cause all sorts of strange issues. If you have a universal remote system then forget about it. As has already been pointed out, ARC is limited to 2.0 stereo. You're better off connecting all the devices to the receiver. If you need audio from the TV then use an optical cable. Even better yet, don't worry about audio from the TV and use one of the many superior streaming boxes that are available.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi