Another speaker layout thread (pics)

C

cavingman

Enthusiast
So this is my first attempt at creating a decent surround setup. It's the first non-apartment i've lived in in a long time, so im taking my time with the basement. You can see in the first picture how far i've gottten, but now im to mounting the speakers. I REALLY want to run all the wires behind the walls. Not a big deal for me to do, just unsure of how to do it in the last pic...

I know where the front 3 are going, just giving a reference for the room size...

This would be the right surround. I tried to take the pictures by standing where i think the center of our sectional will be, aka "center" of the room. This one I also kind of know where it will be going...

And now this guy is the one racking my brain. Do I mount it on the post? if so, how do I run the wire? Do I mount it on the far wall next to the switch panel? I think it would look fugly there. Any ideas?

another couple of reference shots...

Last question is, does anyone have an opinion on decent wall mounts that aren't completely ridiculous in price?
Also, when running the wires through the wall, do you tend to use a wall plate to help keep the look clean? I saw a 5.1 wall plate at lowes for $20 or so and though it might help with the cleanliness. If I used that I would have to have a wall plate behind each speaker, think it might look funny...

thanks in advance :)

J

jostenmeat

Audioholic Spartan
Hello cavingman. Nice room.

Ok, first of all, I am the farthest thing from a CI you can imagine. Take with salt.