Another ER18 Build, #2, #3, #4 ??

D

David LR

Junior Audioholic
Hello-

I'm posting my build thread of the Murphy/Kittinger ER18MTM speaker. This is my first build thread so be kind guys. As far as I can tell there's at least 3 ER18 builds & one other potential one on this forum, interesting they're all happening at roughly the same time.

I purchased my materials from Meniscus a couple of months ago, I'm building the RS28F dome version, thought I was all set on the ribbon tweeter but my contact at Meniscus seemed to favor the RS28F so that's what I got. Either way it'll be OK, in the original ER18 thread, Richard Swerdlow said there wasn't a significant difference between the two tweeters. By the way, this will be the 5th or 6th speaker I've built, so, not a rank beginner, but not a pro either. This is most certainly the largest speaker I've built, all the others have been bookshelf size.

My son's roommate is a woodworker, rents space in a shop in town, he did the cutting for a small fee, also did initial glue up of the top, side, and shelf braces. That part wasn't my original plan, I just wanted the cutting done, but he seemed to want to do it, so fine. It may have worked better if I had done the gluing, I don't know. He assembled everything all at once, multiple pieces, multiple clamps, many things to get aligned, and in the end, somethings were a little out of alignment. I would have glued one shelf brace at a time, I have neither enough clamps, skill or experience to attempt what he did.

erclamps.jpg,

Here's a picture of the clamping setup at the shop, I think I count fourteen or fifteen clamps :eek:

Image00005.jpg