Advice needed on Speakers for McIntosh 4300v system

saltybs

saltybs

Audiophyte
Beginner here in need of a speaker recommendation.

My father just gave me his circa 1990 McIntosh 4300v receiver. It needs work, so I am about to shell out hundreds to get this thing back to working condition.

That said, my end-goal is to use this restored vintage receiver for three things: (i) with a turntable (I'm young and would like to start to build a vinyl collection); (ii) as a tuner (I listen to the radio a lot); and (iii) with an AUX setup so I can plug my iPod in and listen to whatever.

Other than the turntable and an aux cord, I think all I need is speakers, no? My living room is not very big (350 sf), so I don't think I need large speakers. I'd like to get a set of bookshelf-style speakers that balance value (budget $500 for pair) with the right sound to get the full experience of listening to vinyl through a vintage receiver, but also being mindful of the fact that the system will also be used with an iPod and as a tuner. Ideally, I'd actually like to also get a second set of even smaller speakers - I want to wire one into the bedroom and one into the kitchen (those rooms are right next to each other) so that I when I turn the radio on in the morning it's playing throughout the house. I'm less concerned about what speakers I choose for this kitchen/bedroom part of the system because I don't anticipate listening to as much vinyl through them. However, if someone has a rec for these speakers as well, that'd be great! (lower budget for these)

I really am new to this and don't know anything. Would greatly appreciate some help here. The last thing I want to do is spend $500+ on a set of speakers that defeat the purpose of restoring a quality vintage receiver and using a turntable.

Thank you so much!

saltybs

saltybs

Audiophyte