Acoustic Research Performance Series VS Monster Cables

B

Bluesmoke

Audioholic Chief
First off, I'm no HT expert, so anyone who is going to take anything away for reading my post will most likely be a 1st timer to HT like myself.

I work at Best Buy. We carry mainly 3 types of cables, from least to most expensive: Recotton, Acoustic Research, and Monster. Using my staff discount, as well as borrow 'open box' items, I was able to judge performance similarities/differences in various brands of cables.

I have tried them all (Recotton for stereo LR audio cables only) and have reached a more educated perspective based on trial, rather than word of mouth.

My initial impression was that Monster Standard cables would be clearly superior to AR because not only are they THX certified, but also almost 2x as expensive.

I was able to speak to my manager and borrow a few open box Monster cables that we had stored under the tills. Here are the cables used for this test:

Monster Ultra Fiber Optics (4 feet)

Monster Standard Fiber Optics (4 feet)

Monster Standard Digital Coax (4 feet)

Monster V3 component (6.6 feet)

AR Fiber Optics (6 feet)

AR Digital Coax (6 feet)

AR component video (6 feet)

Using both Digital Coax and Fiber Optics, I could find nothing that stands out. Even using the Ultra, I could discern no audible difference in sound. :eek: My DVD player is a Denon 1910, while no juggernaut, it's not too shabby. I then switched to my Free-to-air Sat box using the Digital Coax, I could notice no difference in audio.

There was a slight difference in component video between Monster and AR. Monster has a tad more realistic skin tones, and the color seemed a touch more realistic. I used the Picture-in-picture views to compare the two cables. However, the AR cable retails for $39,99, whereas the Monster V3 retails for $139,99. Is it worth $100 more? Had I not done PIP, I wouldn't have noticed a thing either on DVD or Sat box.