4K Projector vs. 4K OLED & Home Theatre Setup

4K OLED or 4K Projector

• Total voters
B

Blackiemate

Audiophyte
Hi All,

I am keen to hear your view on this and suggestions for a complete setup from scratch.

A brief background - I have recently moved into a new house which has provisions for a motorized screen and projector to sit within a plinth in the ceiling. There are no provisions for wiring.

My budget is $12,000-$14,500 and so far my list is:

- Display Unit (Optima UHD65 or Sony 70" oled etc.)
- Speakers (I know there is a debate over in-ceiling and towers, bookshelf's etc.)
- AV Receiver
- DAC
- Xbox One X

Room dimensions are 16' x 19' with automated blinds, although they are not complete black out.

There are no acoustic dampers or insulation as far as I'm aware.

So I ask of you, if you had your time again, what would you recommend be a good balance between audio and visual components.

This is my first time, my only audio purchase to date is an Emotiva dc-1 & a pair of Adam A7X for a bit of music production.

Much Appreciated!!

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
1) Try to figure out a) what is maximum size of screen which you could fit in your space and b) how far are you planning to sit from it. Take these numbers and check this article:
https://carltonbale.com/does-4k-resolution-matter/
2)I've yet to see one Optoma projector which doesn't mess up something terribly wrong even at 2.5k
3)Optoma UHD65 is actually neither UHD, 4k or as manufacturer boldly states in it's specs 3840×2160 as "native" resolution. it's not. It's using this chip: http://www.ti.com/product/DLP660TE which has full name as 0.66 4k. Check tech specs for "Number of active columns" and rows
I guess Optoma marketing dept "forgot" to add 0.66 next to 4k claims..
Source: http://www.projectorreviews.com/optoma/optoma-uhd65-4k-home-theater-projector-review/