$300-$600 to upgrade my computer speakers...help please!

T

Trace79

Enthusiast
I found this website and love everything I'm learning so far. I've browsed through some similar threads using the search but would like to get some advice on my specific situation here. Thank you in advance :).

Help me take advantage of black friday :).

Here's what I'm working with: I recently had my Logitech Z-5500's crap out on me and luckily I was still in warranty by only two weeks for a full refund lol. The replacement Z906's sound like **** from the reviews and aren't worth it when I can get a full refund which I am doing right now. I loved those Z-5500's but have nothing to compare them with except these little $24 5W temp replacements that bring pain to my ears. I'm sure many on this site would call the Z-5500 speakers crap in sound and I am not one to disagree since I'm no expert. After searching for similar replacements there was nothing in the 5.1 department as far as pre-built systems. I listen to music almost always, sometimes watch movies, and play games seldom to never. Hence, I am looking for a solid 2.0 or 2.1 system, with potential to upgrade to 5.1 later...maybe. I'm mostly about music of literally all kinds; jazz, trip-hop, acoustic, and hard hitting electronic and hip-hop at times. I would like my music to be loud -as loud if not louder than the Z-5500, but also clean and crisp if possible. I am fully willing to sacrifice volume for clarity as long as I can tell a difference from the Z-5500 that I am accustomed to.

My desktop is running on a Foxconn Bloodrage motherboard with a Sonar Realtek 889 soundcard.

I have limited space to work with. My room is small with close proximity to the speakers. The monitors will have to be around 6"W x 8"D...preferably smaller but that is the max dimensions do to their resting locations. Oh, and magnetically shielded since one of them might be sitting next to one of my 24" LCD's.