Denon AVR-1611 blowing PSB Alpha Series (LR1/CLR1) Speakers

T

Twinbird

Enthusiast
Hello,

I recently purchased a Denon AVR-1611 receiver with a PSB Alpha 5.1 system. Before I begin, below are some specs for these items:

AVR-1611
Power Amplifier Rated Output:
Front / Surround / Surround Back:​

75W + 75W (8Ω, 20Hz - 20kHz with 0.08% T.H.D.)
110W + 110W (6Ω, 1kHz with 0.7% T.H.D.)

Center:​

75W (8Ω, 20Hz - 20kHz with 0.08% T.H.D.)
110W (6Ω, 1kHz with 0.7% T.H.D.)

Output Connectors: 6-16Ω

Power Consumption: 450W
PSB Alpha HT1 Series
Alpha LR1 (Compact Monitor)
Sensitivity: 88dB
Impedance: 4Ω (minimal) / 6Ω (nominal)
Input Power: 15-80W (recommend) / 60W (program)

Alpha CLR1 (Center/Monitor)
Sensitivity: 89dB
Impedance: 6Ω (minimal) / 8Ω (nominal)
Input Power: 15-80W (recommend) / 60W (program)

SubSeries 1 (Powered Subwoofer)
Amplifier Power - Internal
Continuous: 110W
Dynamic: 140W
Peak: 280W
I am really a noob when it comes to speakers / audio. When I bought these, I though, hey, the amp is rated at 75W per channel and the speakers are rated at 80W, so the speakers can handle anything the amp throws at them. Well, I had a party, blasting music all night, and the next morning, all my spekaers (excluding sub) were dead :(. (The speakers have been replaced now). I do not want to blow them again, but I am not sure what happend the first time. I want to listen to music as loud as I can without my speakers being blown. I had the volume above 0dB on the amp (it was loud). How could this blow my speakers though, and why was my sub still in good shape?