Onkyo TX-SR702 and sub out problems

W

wem003

Audiophyte
To all-

I've searched the forums and couldn't find a solution - so here it is.

I bought this receiver last week, and have it hooked up to a pair of bookshelf speakers, a sub through the pre-out sub connection (it's powered) and a DVD player through the optical input. I do not have the rest of the surround speakers yet.

When I watch movies the sub works fine.

When I play a music CD, nothing comes through it. I've tried everything I can after viewing the manuals for both the DVD player and receiver.

The speakers are set to small, the sub is set to yes - and the crossover has gone from 80 to THX up to 120 with no difference.

There are decoder settings for Analog/PCM - but I can't seem to find much in the manual about these, excuse my ignorance - I'm very new to this.

Does anyone have a similar configuration? I'm beginning to wonder if the receiver is fauly - but more likely it's my limited intelligence with things like this.

Sorry

Nomo

Nomo

Audioholic Samurai
I'm not well versed on the Onkyo output settings but it sounds as if your reciever's listening mode might be set to some type of auto detection. Try fussing with the listening mode buttons. Just a shot in the dark here.

M

MDS

Audioholic Spartan
The only time you shouldn't get output from the sub is if the receiver is in Direct or Pure Direct mode. Do you happen to have one of those set when listening to CD?

There could also be an issue with your selections in the setup menu, although usually the defaults are fine. In most cases, you want the surround mode selections to be 'Last Valid'. That simply means use the mode that was last selected. So, if you are listening to a CD with PLII Music and then switch to another input, when you come back to CD it will go back to PLII Music.

If you do not have Direct or Pure Direct set, tell me what your menu settings are and I can help you get this sorted out.

W

wem003

Audiophyte