Need some streaming reliability

F

fmw

Audioholic Ninja
I'm new to video streaming. I have two WiFi capable blu ray players and a Netflix account. When I stream a movie, I often get some fits and starts. By that I mean the movie might stop and start over or start and then do some downloading and finally work normally. Sometimes it seem like the units disconnect and then reconnect themselves. Happens with both BD players. I'm wondering if the problem is with Netflix or is it common to BD players connected by WiFi? Would a Roku or similar device clean up this reliability issue?<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
I don't think that's an issue common to wireless BD players. I'm wondering if it's the speed of your internet connection. What download speeds do you get? Have you tried Netflix over a wired connection?

Also, what is the speed of your wireless transmitter (i.e. 802.11n, 802.11g)?

F

fmw

Audioholic Ninja
While I do have a wired ethernet in the house, There are switches in only two rooms and neither one is close to either BD player. I have watched a movie on one of the computers on the network and it worked fine. But the BD players have worked fine as well part of the time. I use Hughes Gen4 satellite. My download speed varies from a low of about 3mbps to a high of 10mbps. It is fast enough to get HD resolution. It is possible that there could be some occasional glitches in the speed delivery but the cache should take care of that. The router that handles WiFi is a commercial router and is really pretty good. The satellite modem is attached directly to it so the BD players aren't involved with the wired ethernet at all. I was tending to blame either the service or the quality of WiFi delivered by the BD players. Perhaps I'm wrong.

Irvrobinson

Irvrobinson

Audioholic Spartan
I had the same problem. In the end a Roku resulted in perfect streaming.

afterlife2

afterlife2

Audioholic Warlord