Windows 7 or Windows 8 for HTPC?

GlocksRock

GlocksRock

Audioholic Spartan
I'm thinking of replacing one of my HTPCs with something newer/better, and all the new pc's come with Windows 8. I have zero experience with Windows 8, and love Win. 7. Does win. 8 have the same homegroup features that win. 7 has, or is it completely different? For those who have used both operating systems, which one is better suited to a media pc?

Bryce_H

Bryce_H

Senior Audioholic
My understanding is Windows 8 does not come with Windows Media Center (if that matters to you - I have WMC7 on both my HTPCs).

BoredSysAdmin

BoredSysAdmin

Audioholic Slumlord
My understanding is Windows 8 does not come with Windows Media Center (if that matters to you - I have WMC7 on both my HTPCs).
^^^ This is correct. Windows 8 comes with free downgrade rights to Win 7
Free linux/xbmc might (or might not) be better alternative, unless you intend to use ocur tuner - it only works with win7 mce.

G

Grador

Audioholic Field Marshall
I cannot stand windows 8 for anything at all, so I say windows 7.

^^^ This is correct. Windows 8 comes with free downgrade rights to Win 7
Free linux/xbmc might (or might not) be better alternative, unless you intend to use ocur tuner - it only works with win7 mce.
IIRC that's only for windows 8 pro.

Irvrobinson

Irvrobinson

Audioholic Spartan
My take is that unless you insist on using a touch screen, Win7 is better than Win8, all day, every day.

GlocksRock

GlocksRock

Audioholic Spartan
I likely won't be using media center, and definitely won't be using a touch screen. Just didn't know about the win 8 interface, and networking features. For playback I'll be using powerdvd 11, VLC, media player classic home cinema x64, windows media player, stuff like that.

ratso

ratso

Full Audioholic