fuzz092888

fuzz092888

Audioholic Warlord
I was thinking about doing a dual opposed build with some TC Sounds LMS Ultras. I have no timeline for this, so don't expect a build thread any time soon, but I'm rolling the idea around and I'd like to see if I can get some box plans and maybe even a cut list hammered out with a little help from anyone who cares to. I've never done box plans from scratch before, so I'm on the hunt for some suggestions and advice.

Now, after seeking advice from TLS Guy, he recommends a box of about 4cu ft. I've been trying to mock something up on sketchup, but admittedly I'm finding I'm pretty terrible at it. I'm sure I'll figure it out eventually, but a little help never hurt :D

Anywho, if anyone's got the time to help with a sketch up mock up or some advice on dimensions and bracing, I'd appreciate it.

One last thing, given that this thing will probably be generating some pretty significant force I've been considering getting the pieces CNC cut so I know all the cuts are true and accurate. Although it's kind of hard to figure out how much that's going to cost without a box mockup and some dimensions, which is also why I'm seeking a bit of help.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
True and accurate definitely helps, mostly with appearance and assembly IMO. You will ideally seal the cabinet internally with some sort of material like RTV, and presumably would be using wood glue at the joints as well. So I wouldn't necessarily consider "true" straight cuts a major structural benefit, but they are definitely a benefit to you.

If you can get someone to provide you rough dimensions and how many and where to place braces, I can CAD it up for you.

Last edited:
fuzz092888

fuzz092888

Audioholic Warlord