Transmission lines and phase

JerryLove

JerryLove

Audioholic Samurai
Am I correct in concluding that the sound added by a transmission line (that is to say: the sound coming out of the back of the drivers, moving through the cabinet, coming out the rear port, and eventually getting to my ear) will be significantly out of phase (like 360 deg +) with the same sound coming out of the front of the driver and heading "straight" to my ear?

In essence, will any sounds helped by a transmission line suffer "time smear" (is that the right word?) where the individual wave is longer than normal because it is emitted from the cabinet twice with a delay in between?

Send Margaritas

Send Margaritas

Audioholic
Jerry, I'm still learning here, and am not qualified to answer your question from a scientific, or theoretical perspective. However, I like woodworking, and am researching making some 'Mission Statement' speakers, that do have a ported (dipole?) design where the sound comes out the back for the midranges. I noted in the design specs (cross-over diagram) that the mids are to be wired out of phase. (Check out the wiring on the mids...it seems like some sort of consideration of this.) There was brief mention of this in the design specs. Link: Statements I'm not sure if the designers were authorities in the field of speaker design, but they look to measure well.

My understanding, as light as it may be, is that when a speaker cone moves, the sound inside the cabinet (coming from the back of the speaker cone) is out of phase with the sound coming out the front. So what you're saying about the sound coming out of a port or transmission line sounds plausible, to this noob. (Time for me to get some books!)