home audio system for cds

N

Nolleon

Audiophyte
Hello!
I am a young college student, but somehow remain in the technology dark ages.
I really enjoy listening to classical music and would like a good audio system to play my cd's. I've looked it up, and it looks like I need stereo speakers and a cd player. I've tried very hard to figure this stuff out on my own, but I still don;'t quite get it. What kind of cd player do I need to hook up to speakers, and how do I hook them up?
What's an affordable way for me to do this? I just want a nice stereo speaker system to play cds and I guess it would be easy to hook it up to a TV and dvd player, too?
I am so lost, obviously. But, I can't really buy anything unless I know how it works, right?

fuzz092888

fuzz092888

Audioholic Warlord
Well first I think we need your budget, followed by if you want a 2 channel system or a 2.1 channel system (this part also relates to your budget) and what sort of setup you are creating.

Is this like a computer speaker setup, or will you have the speakers setup with a listening area in Front of them? There are many great options out there to fit every need, but a budget is a good place to start because without one the recommendations are endless.

I think that to get the most for your money some sort of blu-ray or DVD player hooked up to a receiver would be your best bet. This way you get a little something for your tv as well while still getting great sound for your CDs and you have future upgrade ability.

N

Nolleon

Audiophyte
Thanks for replying!
I believe I need a 2.1 channel system? And the setup would be to have speakers with a listening area in front, so not like a computer setup at all.
My budget.... ah... I wouldn't know where to begin, so this may be WAY too low. Let's keep it under $500?
Is a receiver used for a CD player as well?

G

Grador

Audioholic Field Marshall