Hooking up speaker system to laptop w/o receiver

S

Shudder

Audiophyte
Hiyo all,

After trawling the web for info about desktop speaker setups and ran across a thread asking about desktop system comparisons. In it, BoredSysAdmin nudged the OP away from pre-made desktop setups towards picking out their own satellites and subs -they suggested 2x Behringer B1030A's and a BIC PL-200.

This is my first time venturing outside of pre-made systems, so I was hoping to get some confirmation that things'll work before I buy anything.

I was hoping to use this setup to play music/movies/some games through my macbook pro. My understanding was that most regular speakers will need to go through an amp to work with a laptop. However, all of these speakers have internal amps. Does this mean that, assuming I can blend them, I would just need to wire the satellites to the sub and use a unbalanced male RCA/male 3.5" y-splitter to connect the sub to my laptop?

It seems like blending the speakers would be doable (all have variable crossover dials). Are there any other issues that I'll be running in to? Will my soundcard be ok (Intel HD Audio) if I I'm trying to plug the 2.1 system directly into my laptop? Would it be possible to control the system through something beyond the dial at the back of the sub? In the past, most systems I've used have had a built-in wired remote. Is there any way of adding something like that to the system?

So, in short: To make this work, I would just need the 2 satellites, the sub, two male-male unbalanced RCA connectors, and one unbalanced male RCA/male 3.5" y-splitter? Would any of the cables be likely to be included with the speakers?

Anyhow, sorry to dump a bunch of questions. If there would be a better place to ask for help about this, could you point me in the right direction?

Thanks a lot!
Jack

Last edited:
Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Welcome to the forum, Jack!