What is the best sound bar on the market today?

H

hodge913

Enthusiast
What is the best sound bar or similar technology on the market. Do any of them even come close to surround sound?

I have a room in the basement that will be nearly impossible to wire rear speakers?

Thanks for the reply!

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
There are also wireless options.

As for sound bars, I have no personal experience - but I'd look into the Yamaha models. They seem to get pretty good reviews. They (or any system trying to generate sound reflections) won't work in every room set-up, but you could always give one a try.

D

deedubb

Full Audioholic
It's never impossible. IMO, a mediocre 5.1 system will still sound better than any sound bar.

Midcow2

Midcow2

Banned
Def Tech CLR3000

What is the best sound bar or similar technology on the market. Do any of them even come close to surround sound?

I have a room in the basement that will be nearly impossible to wire rear speakers?

Thanks for the reply!
Okay, this is not exactly a sound bar, but it is an awesome center channel and I think it would sound great all by itself, a Defintive Technology CLR3000 I have one of these installed in my systemand do have experience with it!

C/L/R 3000 Specifications:

Dimensions: 25" W x 8-5/16" H x 16" D.
Response: 19 – 30 kHz.
Nominal Imp.: 4 – 8 ohms.
Rec. amp: 20 – 400 watts.
Built-in sub amp: 150 watts RMS.
Efficiency: 91 dB
Drivers:
– One cast basket 10" sub with one 150-Watt RMS amplifier
– Two cast basket 6-1/2" upper-bass/midrange drivers
– One 1" pure aluminum dome tweeter
Auto On/Off: Signal sensing.
Finish: Piano-Gloss Black. Tri-wireable.
Retail: $1099 ea.

weight 55lbs.

Polk Audio's soundbar , SurroundBar 360 DVD Theater ,they claim simultate surround sound. I have no experience with this product though.

http://www.polkaudio.com/homeaudio/surroundbar/buynow.php

The SurroundBar 360º DVD Theater is the best performing single-speaker surround sound theater system on the market.