Budget budget budget....

Armandhammer

Armandhammer

Audioholic Intern
I hate that word. You probably hate seeing it in a thread title. Gotta ask it anyways. I'm new to home audio. Not so new to car or headphone audio. But home stuff...I'm a complete newb. While I understand some of the lingo, I don't know brands and what's ok and what's junk. And being basically poor doesn't help...lol...you know, flame mignon on a hamburger budget....anyways, here's what I'm trying to do on the cheap.

Desktop computer system. 2.1. Purely for music. No gaming and very little movie watching. I have a DAC, computer is my source. Speakers are Fluance SX6 (told you I was poor). Looking for suggestions for a receiver first of all to run the speakers and eventually a sub, which I'd also appreciate some suggestions for. For the receiver...all I'd like is 50+ watts for the speakers and a pre-amp for the sub. I'd love to stay as close to $100 as I can with a $200 max. Sub suggestions, same budget range. Is there any hope for me?

Thanks for any help you can give.

ImcLoud

ImcLoud

Audioholic Ninja
welcome to ah, Not completely hopeless, lol..
First for the receiver...
This is at the top of your budget but has a sub output all in one...
http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/yamrs300bl/yamaha-r-s300-natural-sound-stereo-receiver/1.html

Another option is and what I would personally do is...
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-DTA-120-Digital-Amplifier/dp/B00HFG3FYA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1419857879&sr=8-1&keywords=dayton amplifier
for splitting the sub you have a couple options..
1 is to cross and split with fmods and cables... http://www.amazon.com/FMOD-Crossover-Pair-High-Pass/dp/B0006N41KG/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1419858011&sr=8-8&keywords=fmod
http://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-ULTRA-Series-Y-Adapter-Inches/dp/B005DL2OVE/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1419858052&sr=8-7&keywords=rca splitter