sholling

sholling

Audioholic Ninja
I need to add some storage. I currently have one of the Intel 4200s with 4TB of storage (4x1.5TB WD Green in RAID5) but it's a bit temperamental. It's been reliable but since I use non-officially-supported drives I have to trick into booting up which fails to give me a warm and fuzzy feeling. Once up it works great. I was just about to pull the trigger on a Synology DiskStation 4-Bay NAS box when I ran across word of the LimeTech RB-1200 12 bay NAS server. That would let me retire the Intel and utilize 4 other 1.5TB WD Green drives that I have on hand (plus a 2TB parity dive) for a total of almost 11TB of usable storage and have room to add another 5.5 (3x2TB) or so of usable storage down the road.

I'm an old semi-retired network admin but my experience is in robust RAID5 arrays. Even my desktop PC has hardware RAID5 (4x1TB WD Black). The problem (besides saving enough money) is that other than what I've googled I know next to nothing about LimeTech, un-RAID, or RAID4. My goal is a reliable and reasonably green place to back up to and of course fast enough to serve video AV media storage. I have a ton of old mid-tower PCs laying around but it looks like it would cost me almost as much to convert one (new MB/CPU, 3x 4-drive SATA controllers, 3x 4in3 drive trays, and un-RAID license) as it would to just buy the ready to rock RB-1200. They're currently out of stock but I can wait.

My questions:
  • RAID5 is often very unfriendly to consumer drives, especially "green" drives. Sleep mode and spin up delays can cause the controller will falsely assume a drive died. Have you heard of any such issues with this technology?
  • Has anybody heard good or bad about LimeTech? About un-RAID?
  • Other affordable, low power drain, not horribly loud options that might be better?

krzywica

krzywica

Audioholic Samurai