Marantz SR7001 and Protect Mode?

B

budbrande

Audioholic Intern
First let me say that I work in the Pro audio video business and have been doing so for 25 years. I am having a problem and figured I would ask to see if anyone here has had this happen to them. I just recently upgraded the home theater system in my living room. My receiver is the Marantz SR7001 and the speaker system consist of the following. Jamo C809 towers, Jamo C80 center, Jamo C80 surrounds, and a Jamo C80 sub.

The problem I am having is with the Marantz receiver. From time to time it is going into protect mode and shutting down for no reason. Most of the time it happens within five minutes of turning it on otherwise it will play all night with no problem. The second thing I have noticed is it is usually at very low volume when it shuts down. I have checked the speaker wires for shorts and there are no problems. I even tried a cheap set of AR speakers that my wife had before we got married and it does the same thing so that pretty much rules out the speakers. I contacted the dealer where I purchased the unit and he said they have not had any problems with Marantz which I expected him to say.

Yesterday morning it did it twice to my wife before I got out of bed so I disconnected the unit and boxed it back up and took it back to the dealer to have them check it out. I am pretty sure there is an internal problem with this receiver. The biggest problem is that it does not do it all the time. The other thing that makes no sense is I have never had it shut down at higher volumes. :confused: I have owned the receiver for five weeks now and it has probably happend about 20 times. I figured I would ask around here and see if anyone else has seen anything like this and if so, what was the problem?

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi